Inductance and designing a coil

In summary, the task is to design a coil with a given inductance value of 1 mH, wound on a non-magnetic former of 5mm diameter and 20mm length. The diameter of the winding should not exceed 7mm. The number of turns, wire diameter, number of layers, and resistance of the winding can be calculated using the equation L = \frac{\mu_0 n^2 A}{l}, where n is the number of turns, A is the area of one of the wire loops, and l is the length of the coil. The wire diameter will only matter in determining the needed thickness to fit the required number of turns into the given space.
Hussman
Hi all, I'm studying computer aided design at university but i have to complete an electronics module. My knowledge is extremely basic and my lecturer 'does not have the time to go through basic physics' so i need a little help.

I have been asked to...

'Design a coil which has a given inductance value of 1 mH. The coil is to be
wound on a non-magnetic former of 5mm diameter, 20 mm long. The diameter
of the winding should not exceed 7 mm.

Specify the number of turns, wire diameter, number of layers needed and
calculate the resistance of the winding.'

I haven’t attempted this question yet as i have no idea where to start. Any help would be massively appreciated

Many thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
There is a simple equation that describes the inductance of a solenoid - basically any coil with many turns of wire on it. This is it:

[tex] L = \frac{\mu_0 n^2 A}{l} [/tex]

where [tex]\mu_0[/tex] is the magnetic permeability of free space, n is the number of turns of the wire, A is the area of one of the wire loops, and l is the length of the coil, measured from the first turn to the last.