In what direction should the pilot travel in this direct flight?

In summary: Airport A to Airport B. On the way, he flies directly east for 300 km, then 340 km at 34.0° west of north, and 150 km north to finally arrive at Airport B. If Bobo had continued to fly in a straight line from Airport A to Airport B, he would have flown in a direction that is 56 degrees north of east.
physics1720
I'm new to physics and am having a problem with a homework questions

An airplane starting from airport A flies 300 km east, then 340 km at 34.0° west of north, and then 150 km north to arrive finally at airport B.

A.)The next day, another plane flies directly from A to B in a straight line. In what direction should the pilot travel in this direct flight?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
please tell us what effort you yourself have put into the problem before we can help you.

ALso try drawing a diagram... it makes it significantly easier to figure out from there

I spent my entire brake in between classes today on it which is 3 hours and I have worked on it about an hour after class. I have drawed a couple of different pics and I just can't figure it out.

Draw a picture! Draw a line 340 km long due East from A (scale it if you prefer!), i.e. horizontal, then draw a line at "34 degrees W of N" which would be 90- 34= 56 degrees above the horizontal line (back above the horizontal line) and mark that off at 340 km (and I'm going to call that point C). Finally draw a third line due N (vertical) from that point and mark off distance 150 km. The final point is B. Finally draw in the line from A to B. That's the straight flight back.