Improvised Optics Lab Equipment

In summary, the speaker is an astronomy teacher on a tight budget who wants to provide hands-on learning for students on the tools and principles used by astronomers. They have identified a list of equipment needed, including an optics bench, lenses, mirrors, spectroscopes, spectroscopy gas samples, and light sensors. They also mention using improvised equipment, such as using a sheet of plywood for an optics bench and a grease spot photometer for measuring light intensity. They have also received recommendations to try contacting LED manufacturers for free kits and to look for cheap equipment at educational stores.
LumenPlacidum
I'm an astronomy teacher on a very tight budget. Before I really get into the meat of astronomical information, I want to make sure that my students have some understanding of WHY it is that we know what we do about astronomical bodies, and that means getting them to work with some of the tools and principles that astronomers use, like the light gathering ability of optical components, the dispersion of luminous energy at a distance, basic optical set-ups, and some basic spectroscopy.

I've identified quite a bit of equipment that I need in order to do experiments with these topics. This list is:

An optics bench (basically a yardstick with clasps to hold lenses/mirrors/screens/etc.)
Lenses
Mirrors
Spectroscopes
Spectroscopy gas samples in tubes
The electrical apparatus to excite the samples
Light sensors and interface equipment (just something to measure the intensity of light for an inverse-square-law basic experiment)

Now, last year I had students build their own spectroscopes with peeled cds as a diffraction grating and cardboard tubes. They worked reasonably well.