Implementation of Transmitter and Receiver for GPR

In summary, the student is looking for help in developing a complete system for GPR using VNA. They are starting from scratch and do not know where to begin.
ali.cmi
Hello,
I am a final year student of BEE Telecom. I chose my Final Year Project to design a Transmitter and Receiver for GPR. GPR has already been developed in my institute. It uses VNA as its source. Since VNA is a multipurpose device and the already-implemented project used it to find S11 only, I chose this project to introduce portability in GPR. (VNA available in my institute is bulky)

The problem is that I have no idea where to begin. I need a head start. I need to develop complete understanding of how the Stepped-Frequency Transmitter (used in already-developed project) and compatible receiver works and I have to develop the whole system too, of course.

Please guide me and point me in the right direction.

Regards.

Engineering news on Phys.org
ali.cmi said:
Hello,
I am a final year student of BEE Telecom. I chose my Final Year Project to design a Transmitter and Receiver for GPR. GPR has already been developed in my institute. It uses VNA as its source. Since VNA is a multipurpose device and the already-implemented project used it to find S11 only, I chose this project to introduce portability in GPR. (VNA available in my institute is bulky)

The problem is that I have no idea where to begin. I need a head start. I need to develop complete understanding of how the Stepped-Frequency Transmitter (used in already-developed project) and compatible receiver works and I have to develop the whole system too, of course.

Please guide me and point me in the right direction.

Regards.

Could you please define each of your acronyms, to be sure we are all on the same page before we try to help with ideas?

GPR = Ground Penetrating Radar
VNA = Vector Network Analyzer