Imaginary fraction questions. lost.

In summary, An imaginary fraction is a fraction where the numerator or denominator, or both, contain an imaginary number. To add or subtract imaginary fractions, you first need to find a common denominator. Then, you can simply add or subtract the numerators and keep the common denominator. You can simplify imaginary fractions just like regular fractions by dividing the numerator and denominator by their common factors. Multiplying imaginary fractions is similar to multiplying regular fractions, while dividing by an imaginary fraction requires multiplying by its reciprocal.
ahhgidaa
im studying for my circuits midterm and the proff has handouts with questions and answers but not detailed answers. i can't figure out how he went from a fraction to an answer.

(-j2)(2+j2)/-j2+2+j2 the answer on the paper is 2-j2

i do not know what I am allowed to do with the 2 next to the j with the distributive properties.

another example i was stuck on was i= -j2/1+j the answer here was rad2 at an angle of -135

and the above equation came from -j2+(2-j4) I_2 + (I_1 + I_2)j6=0 with I_1 =1

and insight or help would be appreciated. thakns

Physics news on Phys.org
ahhgidaa said:
im studying for my circuits midterm and the proff has handouts with questions and answers but not detailed answers. i can't figure out how he went from a fraction to an answer.

(-j2)(2+j2)/-j2+2+j2 the answer on the paper is 2-j2
First off, you need to learn how to write mathematical expressions so that they mean what you intend. I am willing to bet that on the handout it looks like this:

[tex]\frac{-2j(2 + 2j)}{-2j + 2 + 2j}[/tex]

If you write fractions like this without using LaTeX to format them, put parentheses around the entire numerator and the entire denominator.

If you write 2j, people will be likely to mistake this for j2, which is something different.

For this problem, the first thing to do is to simplify the denominator.
ahhgidaa said: