I'm in a predicament. (Long, TL;DR at bottom)

• Thread starter mwlee29
  • Start date
In summary: F. Even if I pass that class and get a 3.0, it would still not be enough to get me out of academic probation. In summary, my situation is dire, and I am not sure what to do. I hope that your summary was helpful.
mwlee29
Hello all!

So before I begin with my current dilemma I believe I should first provide a little background. I'm currently a freshman level student at a rather large university (20000 students I believe) with a significant amount of prestige accredited to its name. All throughout high school I made Bs and Cs, primarily due to my lack of studying and incomplete homework. I've never failed a test up until college, and my testing well is the reason for me being able to attend such a university. During my first year of college I told myself that I wasn't going to be introverted, and I was going to try to meet new people and develop some social skills. So, I started in the place I felt the most comfortable: the physics department. I met a ton of people that I enjoyed talking with, including a professor who said he would be willing to take me onto his research team during the spring semester of 2015.
My time during the semester also included driving 45 minutes one-way to a psychological evaluation mandated by my doctor. I was diagnosed with depression, attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), and general sleep disorder after about a months worth of testing. I've been dealing with abusive parents for the past year and a half. Most recently they have tried to control me by taking my car and threatening to quit paying for school (which is the only way I am able to afford to go to such a prestigious university). I have no scholarships or any money saved up to pay for college.