If we consider the universe as bounded but infinite

In summary, the conversation revolved around the topic of the bounds of the universe and energy, specifically the concept of infinite matter and energy and the possibility of a big crunch. The question of why mass in the universe is bounded was also brought up, with the explanation that a finite volume can only contain a finite number of particles being given. The conversation also touched on the idea of a continuous substance and the limitations of a finite volume.
Atlas3
Gold Member
Would someone like to have a conversation with me about the bounds of the universe and energy? I have a few ideas rambling around.. When I say bounds I mean the expanding bubble. But I would like to discuss infinite matter and infinite energy big crunch possibility. I'm a beginner with BIG thoughts.

Space news on Phys.org
I'm afraid you won't find that here, have you had a chance to look at the forum rules ?

Atlas3 said:
Would someone like to have a conversation with me about the bounds of the universe and energy?

That's too broad as it stands for a PF thread. Can you pick one specific thing you have a question about?

Likes Atlas3
wabbit said:
I'm afraid you won't find that here, have you had a chance to look at the forum rules ?

I am trying to navigate and I'll find the guidelines. Thank you. If you are a moderator you can delete or close this thread. Thank you

Atlas3 said:
Why is mass in the universe bounded?
There's no proof that it is, we don't know. What is bounded is the mass in the observable universe, but I'm stuck for a proof here. I would say because we know (or at least we have good evidence that) the observable universe has a finite volume (there's a limit to how far we can see), and finite volumes can contain only a finite number of particles.

Likes Atlas3
wabbit said: