Ideas on what the extra dimensions are

In summary, This conversation discusses the idea of extra dimensions required for super string theory. The four dimensions that are currently known and understood are the three spatial dimensions (x-, y-, and z-axes) and time. It is believed that there are 7 more dimensions that are currently unknown. The conversation explores the possibility that these dimensions could correspond to the elemental units of length, mass, time, electrical current, temperature, mole, and candela. It also suggests that these dimensions could be physically perceivable, potentially corresponding to the human senses of sight, hearing, smell, taste, and touch. The conversation delves into the idea that sound could be a dimension, as it is a measure of the magnitude of something and is perceivable
finneyp
Hi. I am not a physicist or a mathematician, but I am a Professional Licensed Electrical Engineer with a Masters Degree in EE. I did get through the Quantum Physics class but never pursued the theoretical sciences any further. I say all of this because I have come up with some rather odd ideas regarding the extra dimensions that are required for super string theory. I don’t want people to think I’m a crackpot or a joker. Given enough time I could solve complex differential equations with the best of them. So here goes.

Currently there are three spatial dimensions that we are all familiar with, those defined by the x-, y-, and z-axes. They all measure displacement or magnitude from the origin. The units are feet, meters, Angstroms, or whatever. That unit is an elemental unit; it is not a combination of other units.

The other dimension that is currently well documented is time. Again, time is a measure of magnitude from some origin. The units are seconds, hours, days, or whatever. Again, the unit is elemental.