I really writing college essays

In summary, the conversation was about a student in their senior year making decisions about college. They listed their top choices for schools to attend and their backup options. They expressed concern about not receiving help with their college essays and asked for advice. The advice given included avoiding cliches and using an appropriate tone and grammar. It was also advised not to rely on anecdotes or mention controversial topics in the essay. Instead, the student was encouraged to be unique and stand out from other applicants.
blu3boy
It is about that time in senior year where all my biggest decisions are about to be made. Yea, I'm filling out college applications. Here are my current MAIN choices in ranking of how badly I want to attend:

EDIT: I'm majoring in Physics if that matters

1. University of Washington in Seattle
2. Purdue University
3. New York University
4. University of Pennsylvania
5. Georgia Tech
6. University of Pittsburg

and these are backup schools - the ones I'll apply to just in case ALL of the above deny me. No particular ranking here, because all of them are schools that I rrreeeaallllyyy don't want to go to:

1. University of Tennessee Knoxville
2. Tennessee Tech University
3. Pace University

All of the above had 80+ percent acceptance ratings.Now, I have not had ANY help with college essays. My counselors say they'll go around classrooms and help students out in January, but I think that's arbitrary and stupid, because most of my college applications are due months before then.

So - could I get any advice?

What do these college essays look for, what can I do to not be generic, etc?

Please and thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
If it sounds cliche, it probably is.

Using an abundance of big words makes you sound insincere and coached.

Grammar is very important. Nail it; sound professional, but not stuffy.

A little wry humor doesn't hurt, but don't overdo it.