I have to transform some machine for use them in United state

In summary, the conversation discusses adapting an industrial machine from France to the USA, specifically regarding voltage, frequency, wiring, and color coding. The speaker offers advice on using 230 volts for a 240 volt rated machine, potential issues with changing frequency, and suggests looking at NEMA standards for further guidance. They also provide information on wire colors for different voltage and phase systems, and mention that low voltage wires are usually differentiated by using smaller gauge wires.
Fred033
Hi,

First, I would like to ask for your apologize for my very bad english...

My name is Frédéric Serrano, I'm a technician and I'm starting my own business.
For a new contract my customer ask me to adapt his industrial machine for the USA.
So I have to comeback to the basic rule.

Here in France we use 230V 50hz. I know the in USA you have 110V 60hz.
about the "neutral regime" (not sure of the translation), we use TT, what do you use in USA?
Where can I find the abacus for the diameter of cable like this :
http://www.volta-electricite.info/articles.php?lng=fr&pg=605
http://www.volta-electricite.info/articles.php?lng=fr&pg=603
what the normalization for the color of the conductor? power L1 L2 L3 N and command 0V 24V
I will have more questions, is there someone who can help me?Thanks

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
No one seems to have any answers to your questions, so I will do my best.
Industry in the USA usually has 240 volt, so 230 volt rated should be OK.
Going from 50 hertz to 60 hertz changes the speed of motors. Is this a problem?
The answer for the color code for wires should be on the www somewhere. There weren't any standards for signal or low power wires years ago. Green was usually ground except for a few industries where it was something else.