I have to take a foreign language

• Thread starter celestasia
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Language
In summary: Just get the language requirement out of the way. Take the easiest one; probably Spanish or French.Spanish would probably be the easiest for you to learn and be most useful for your purposes. There are many resources available to help you learn Spanish, and you could also complete the requirement online. If you're in the United States, Spanish would be the best option. If you want to work in Europe, I would recommend German or French.
celestasia
I am an undergraduate physics student, and it is required at my school to take and pass a 200 level course in a foreign language. I need to start taking a foreign language either this summer or fall. It will take at least four semesters to finish with my language requirement. My options are as follows: French, Spanish, German, or Japanese. There is also a possibility of Portuguese or Chinese, but they are scheduled oddly. I have talked to my adviser about which one would be the most helpful to me. She said all I need to know is English. However, language is a requirement for me. Which language do you think would be best?

Physics news on Phys.org
Just get the language requirement out of the way. Take the easiest one; probably Spanish or French.

Ya, I would go with Spanish most likely. There are many resources available for help learning Spanish. You could also consider fulfilling your requirement online so you can work at your own pace.

If you're in the US, I guess Spanish is probably the most useful. If you intend to work in Europe I'd say pick the biggest economies like German (which is spoken in germany, switzerland and Austria) or French.