Hypothetical entanglement question

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of entanglement and its implications for time and distance. It is suggested that entangled particles do not react to changes in the other particle's state, but rather remain in a superposition of states until measured. An experiment has been conducted to test this phenomenon, and it aligns with standard quantum theory that suggests instantaneous collapse of the wave function.
Molecule
Hey guys,

I'm new to to this Physics Forum. In fact, this is my first post ever. So I hope this question hasn't been asked and answered a billion times already.

Suppose that you have an experiment set up where two particles that are in a vacuum with each other become entangled and then one is sent rocketing off at near light-speeds. If you measured the stationary particle, would the other one, who is flying around near the speed of light, react instantly or would it take longer to react (from the spectator's view point) because it is moving through time slower? Or is an experiment like this even possible?

Thanks. This has been keeping me up at night!

Physics news on Phys.org
1. Distance and speed do not matter
2. "react" is not the right word. You won't be able to detect any CHANGES in a second particle: you have only 1 change to measure it, and when you get information about the measurement you confirm the entanglements. You can use it to send information FTL

Hmm maybe I should rephrase my question then. I'm talking about the difference in time between the two particles. Would you detect the changes immediately even if they were on drastically different 'internal clocks'?

No, your vision of entanglement is incorrect.

Say, I have 2 balls: white and black. I put them randomly into 2 boxes and then send one of them to you. After a while I open my box and I find while ball. Aha, then you have a black one! I say.