Hydroxide Radical: Exploring Alkaline Properties of Water

In summary, the walter machine is not really effective in alkalinizing water and it's not good for our health to have alkaline water.
Stephanus
Dear PF Forum,
Recently I'm studying an ionizer water machine. This machine claims (it's what it says) that it can turn 'ordinary' water into alkaline water and good for health. It's not the machine that I ask, but it's the alkaline property that I want to know.

Why is the walter alkalinized? Is it OH-?
I read that alkalinized water is good for health
And I also read that Hydroxide is a radical, and radical is not good for our health.

Perhaps someone can explain to me, where does the alkaline property come from?
Is OH- is really bad for our health.
Or is OH neutral is the radical agent while OH- is actually good.
Thanks for any explanations. :smile:

Chemistry news on Phys.org
You've exceeded your understanding --- back up and digest things a bit.

Stephanus said:
Dear PF Forum,
Recently I'm studying an ionizer water machine. This machine claims (it's what it says) that it can turn 'ordinary' water into alkaline water and good for health. It's not the machine that I ask, but it's the alkaline property that I want to know.

Why is the walter alkalinized? Is it OH-?
I read that alkalinized water is good for health
And I also read that Hydroxide is a radical, and radical is not good for our health.

Perhaps someone can explain to me, where does the alkaline property come from?
Is OH- is really bad for our health.
Or is OH neutral is the radical agent while OH- is actually good.
Thanks for any explanations. :smile:
OH(-) which is anion is *entirely* different entity than OH(*) which is radical.
Electrolysis of water contaminated with certain species like chlorides would make it alkaline but would also produce some free chlorine and hypochlorites in it.