How would *You* detect magnetic monopoles?

In summary, according to wikipedia, experiments suggest that magnetic monopoles do not exist with masses below 600 GeV/c². However, there are still possible methods to find them, such as using a hand-held compass.
VforVendetta
As far as I'm aware of, a lot of models in particle physics and in the so called grand unified theories postulate the existence of magnetic monopoles.

When I was an undergraduate student I always thought that it was fascinating that so much could be built theoretically without the CONCRETE evidence the for existence of monopoles (maybe indirect evidence - the models seem to work). Isn't that a little bit of an embarassing thing? I have the impression that it is as embarassing as people can feel about "the measurement problem" in quantum mechanics...

According to wikipedia (I know a article would be a better source, but I do not have the one they used):

"The most recent such experiments [experiments made to detect very massive particles like the magnetic monopole] suggest that monopoles with masses below 600 GeV/ do not exist, while upper limits on their mass due to the very existence of the universe – which would have collapsed by now if they were too heavy – are about 10¹⁷ GeV/."

So, roughly 15 to 14 orders of magnetude which are kinda difficult to probe (especially the 10¹⁷ end because it is just two orders of magnetude away from the Planck mass which is approximately 1.22*10¹⁹ GeV/c²). This could suggest a layperson like myself that there could be low hopes of observing those particles in our future particles accelerators - but it could happen tomorrow (if it does do not refrain from telling me, I WILL WANT TO KNOW ABOUT IT!)...