How to remember set theory properties?

In summary: By using these "typical" functions and sets, I can easily visualize and understand the concepts better. Also, your explanation about the inverse function preserving all set operations really helped clarify things for me. Thank you again for your help!
Ragnarok7
I'm an undergraduate studying math taking intermediate proof-writing courses, and there are certain basic identities of set theory and functions that still confuse me - i.e., I have to reprove them or think about them carefully every time. Examples:

\(\displaystyle (A\times B)\cap (C\times D)=(A\cap C)\times (B\cap D)\)

If \(\displaystyle g\circ f\) is injective, then \(\displaystyle f\) is injective (but not necessarily \(\displaystyle g\)). If \(\displaystyle g\circ f\) is surjective, then \(\displaystyle g\) is surjective (but not necessarily \(\displaystyle f\)).

Given \(\displaystyle f:A\rightarrow B\), \(\displaystyle A_0,A_1\subset A\) and \(\displaystyle B_0,B_1\subset B\):

\(\displaystyle f^{-1}(B_0\cap B_1)=f^{-1}(B_0)\cap f^{-1}(B_1)\) and

\(\displaystyle f(A_0\cap A_1)\subset f(A_0)\cap f(A_1)\) - equality holds if \(\displaystyle f\) is injective.

The thing is, proving such things doesn't seem to help me remember them since the proof is rather mechanical and symbolic. Does anyone have any tips for learning them better, or any book suggestions that might give me some intuition for it? Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I do not remember any of those rules. I just assume the appropriate rules are true anytime I have to prove something and then do a quick check for the ones I assumed.

These are not "proofs" (for which there are, truly, "no substitutes") but "heuristics" which may, or may not help you.

For your first example, think of the two projection functions:

$p_1:X \times Y \to X$
$p_2: X \times Y \to Y$

defined in the obvious way.

For your second example: we have two "cases" with functions: