How to Read the Position of a DC Motor for a Car Mirror with Memory Project?

• Thread starter Rami Ak
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Dc Motors
In summary, the rotary encoder is a common way to know the position of your motor, but if you don't have room for extra parts, you might need to use a physical blocking or current increase to detect the position.
Rami Ak
Hi my name is Rami am from Syria and is my first post here, I'm studying communication engineering and I'm working on a junior project about ( car mirror with memory ) that saves the locations of a car mirror for many drivers ..
i'm using Atmega-16 to do this with keypad and L293 Motor Driver and LCD
every thing went well but the PROBLEM is :
How can i know the position of the DC motor ?? ( read the position )
how to read it ?? what device ?? what method to have values for motor positions back to Microconroller ??
I can't add a resistor to bring the value ( rotation ) from motor because I'm working on regular and fixed car mirror ... and normal DC motor .. non-step one
the solution should exist somewhere in my circuit
my project reached a dead end
any useful ideas please ?
many many many thanks 4 all
sorry about my English :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
A rotary encoder is a common way to know the position of your motor.

DragonPetter said:
A rotary encoder is a common way to know the position of your motor.

Thank you DragonPetter but i can't add anything to my DC motor in that mirror ( no place ) its fixed

Rami Ak said:
Thank you DragonPetter but i can't add anything to my DC motor in that mirror ( no place ) its fixed

Well, there are simpler solutions, but this depends on the position resolution you can accept.

DragonPetter said:
Well, there are simpler solutions, but this depends on the position resolution you can accept.

solutions like what ? :(

Have you considered a potentiometer, or photodiodes?