How to Prove Vector Identity Using Levi-Civita Notation?

• Thread starter hellomynameisscottt
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Notation
In summary: The expression for a triple product is## (\vec{A} \times \vec{B} \times \vec{C})_i = (\vec{A} \times \vec{B})(\vec{C} \times \vec{A})\epsilon_{ijk} = (\vec{A}(\vec{B})^3)_i(\vec{C}^3)_j ##and the following equation is equal to## (\vec{A} \times \vec{B})(\vec{C} \times \vec{A})\epsilon_{ijk} = (\vec{A}(\vec{
hellomynameisscottt
OP warned about not using the homework template
I need to prove B.(Gradient . B) - B X(Gradient X B)=Del{i} [B{i}B{j} -1/2 (kroneker delta {ij} B^2]

where I have used . as the dot product, {} as subscript. Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
If I write the left hand side using proper math symbols, is
$$
\mathbf{B} (\nabla \cdot \mathbf{B}) - \mathbf{B} \times (\nabla \times \mathbf{B})
$$
correct?

Hi Blue_leaf77,

Yes that is correct! Thank you, I am sorry I typed it so poorly I am new to Physics forums.

Then the equality in the original equation does not make sense because the left side is a vector whereas the right side is a scalar.

The right is still a vector, I have Bolded the vector quantities B.

This is essentially a proof from Jackson. But I need to show it with levi Cevita notation.

hellomynameisscottt said:
The right is still a vector, I have Bolded the vector quantities B.
No, it's not. For instance you have ##|\mathbf{B}|^2## which is a scalar.

I have uploaded the page from Jackson it is equation (6.119) I am trying to prove, however I must use Levi Cevita notation.

Attachments

• IMG_4558.JPG
    IMG_4558.JPG
    67.7 KB · Views: 413