Is it possible to manufacture water and how does it work?

• Thread starter Dr.Nemo
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Water
In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of manufacturing water and various methods for doing so, including burning hydrogen and oxygen, mixing hydrochloric acid and sodium hydroxide, and using electrolysis. It is also mentioned that water naturally dissociates into H+ and OH- ions, and that adding salt or acid can aid in the process of electrolysis. The concept of a "hydrogen economy" is also briefly mentioned.
Dr.Nemo
I am new to chemistry, so this might be a stupid question. Can you manufacture water. If so how? Where could I learn more about it? Would it be hard to make? H20 means 2 hydrogen atoms and one oxygen atom? I would like to learn more? I'm not a very smart doctor!

Last edited by a moderator:
Chemistry news on Phys.org
You can burn hydrogen and oxygen. Viola! Water.

Problem is, the hydrogen costs a good deal more than water.

You can mix hydrochloric acid and sodium hydroxide. It'd be kind of salty though.

You can also say that you yourself manufacture water during respiration

Producing water is something easy , you can produce it as a basic result , or as a minor one .

When you burn a hydrocarbone , you produce water.
When you add a strong base to an strong acid , you can produce water.
When you burn hydrogen , you produce water.

what you have to , is to isolated water than the other results (except burning hydrogen).

Originally posted by Zargawee

When you burn hydrogen , you produce water.

In oxygen, yes.Could you not also "burn" hydrogen in Fluorine or Chlorine?

Sure. But don't try to bathe with the product.

- Warren