How to get a 30um (micrometer) laser diameter?

In summary: The lens equation won't help because it's dealing with an entire lens system and you're just looking at a point.There are many affordable microscopes that can do this- I'm not sure what the cost is, but you could check out ebay or google.If this laser blows and won't work for my purposes. Can anyone point me in the right direction for a set up that would cost under $300?There are many affordable microscopes that can do this- I'm not sure what the cost is, but you could check out ebay or google.
FourierTransform
Greetings everyone. I am a mechanical engineering student whose professor challenged him to a project that requires some optics knowledge. After years of quietly reading the physics forums I am finally making my first post. If this question ends up in the wrong forum, feel free to move it to the correct one.

So I am building an Atomic Force Microscope (at least trying to), if anyone has any knowledge of them. Basically I need to reflect a laser off a cantilever of diameter 30um (positioned at an 11 degree angle), and into a photo-detector. My lab has this laser: https://www.thorlabs.com/thorproduct.cfm?partnumber=CPS635F which claims to have a 30um diameter when focused. Well, when I test the laser on surfaces such as walls, tables, etc, the diameter surely does not look 30um. However I am not sure if this is because the rating is off, or the surfaces are just reflecting the laser in many directions and making it appear wider.

My first question: I have a suspicion that if the laser diameter is larger than the cantilever, that there will still be light reflected off of it, and therefore having the laser focused to under 30um is not necessary. Is this correct? Or would it greatly benefit me to reduce the laser diameter?

My second question: Is the laser we have capable of being focused to 30um if that is a necessary or desirable goal?