How to determine Steel Grade? [BS 5950]

• Thread starter HarryKoh
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Steel
In summary, when determining the steel grade for a beam, the section (e.g. UB 305x102x25) only represents the shape, and the steel grade is determined separately. To calculate the self-weight of the steel, you need to model it as a distributed load using the beam's volume and density.
HarryKoh
Hi guys, I'm still new to this steel structure, would like to ask if we know the section e.g UB 305x102x25, how do we determine the steel grade (S275, S355, etc)?

Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
The beam section is only the shape, the steel grade is separate and not controlled by the section.

Likes HarryKoh
Mech_Engineer said:
The beam section is only the shape, the steel grade is separate and not controlled by the section.

Hi, thanks for the reply! I would also like to ask how do I count the selfweight of the steel? Take UB 305x102x25 as example.. so the steel density multiply the area of section? Thanks!

You model the beam's self-weight as a distributed load based on the beam volume and density.

Related to How to determine Steel Grade? [BS 5950]

1. How do I determine the steel grade of a material?

To determine the steel grade of a material, you can either refer to the material's mill test certificate or perform a series of tests such as tensile testing, hardness testing, and chemical composition analysis. These tests will provide the necessary information to determine the steel grade.

2. What is the significance of determining the steel grade?

Determining the steel grade is important because it determines the mechanical properties and chemical composition of the material. This information is crucial in selecting the right material for a specific application and ensuring its structural integrity and safety.

3. Can I determine the steel grade without any testing or certification?