How To Create the Fastest Rolling Can Possible

In summary: The difference in mass and radius will only play a role in the can's ability to stay on the incline and not fall off.
FatMushroom14
Hello, this is my first time on this site as a member, but I have found it very helpful all year. In my physics class we are trying to come up with a way to get a can to roll down an incline as fast as possible. We have to empty out the food from the can, then do whatever we can to it to make it roll faster. We are learning about moment of Inertia right now, but have already learned about potential, kinetic, and elastic energy, so I think that it might have something to do with those. Is there anything more advanced that could help that I haven't learned yet, or how would I use what I have learned to make a can roll faster? I have already thought about making the can as light as possible and have as small of a radius as possible, because it would have the smallest moment of Inertia, but there has to be something else that I can do in addition to that. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thank you very much, and I look forward to being a part of this site.
FatMushroom14

Likes CanFan
Physics news on Phys.org
I think the angle of the incline has to be the most important factor.
If it is just off of vertical the can will move at close to free fall speed, while having just enough traction to actually roll.

@rootone is correct. If the incline is near vertical, air drag will be significant. If it is near horizontal, rolling friction will be significant.

What range of incline angles and incline length do you have?

The incline is fixed but the construction and content of the can is not? Are you allowed to use a motor?

Are you allowed to make the can big enough so that it is touching the floor at the bottom of the incline even before it is launched?

Do you have Prince Albert in the can?

Last edited: