How to 'convert' from physicist to electrical engineer

In summary, the conversation is about someone who has completed their bachelor's degree in physics and wants to switch to electrical engineering. They have been accepted into graduate school for electrical engineering but want to know which undergraduate courses they should take in order to fully convert themselves to an electrical engineer. The person wants to focus on areas related to physics, but also wants to take remedial courses in traditional electrical engineering topics. Some recommended compulsory courses include analog and digital communication, computer networks, control systems, semiconductor devices, and microelectronic circuits analysis and design. The speaker also mentions a website, nanohub.org, where physics and electrical engineering intersect.
yllihp
Here's the situation. I finished my bachelors in physics last year, and I want to ‘convert’ from a physicist to an electrical engineer. Now that I’ve got grad school offers (MS) in electrical engineering, how do I actually go about converting myself to an electrical engineer?

I’m planning to concentrate on the more ‘physics-oriented’ areas (e.g. solid state, quantum, nanotechnology, etc.), which I pretty much have the prerequisites for, so I actually don’t have to take any undergrad remedial courses...But I would still like to take remedial undergrad classes in the more 'traditional' electrical engineering areas, so that I can actually call myself an electrical engineer…

The question is, which undergrad classes should I take? What kinds of topics are ‘compulsory’ for an electrical engineer?

Physics news on Phys.org
The key here is that you want to focus on certain fields pertaining actually to physics rather than ee which make the experience relaxed and prerequisites met.
I am going through doing the inverse of what you're doing (ee bachelor >> phys. msc).