How to caculate the inverse metric tensor

In summary: I see. I think I know my mistake already. Thanks. for the help. I am new to this, always forget about the symmetric. Many thanks to all the help.
ngkamsengpeter
Given a metric tensor gmn, how to calculate the inverse of it, gmn. For example, the metric
[tex]
g_{\mu \nu }=
\left[ \begin{array}{cccc} f & 0 & 0 & -w \\ 0 & -e^m & 0 &0 \\0 & 0 & -e^m &0\\0 & 0 & 0 & -l \end{array} \right]
[/tex]

From basic understanding, I would think of divided it, that is
[tex]
g^{\mu \nu }=
\left[ \begin{array}{cccc} 1/f & 0 & 0 & -1/w \\ 0 & -e^{-m} & 0 &0 \\0 & 0 & -e^{-m} &0\\0 & 0 & 0 & -1/l \end{array} \right]
[/tex]

But the author gave some different answer, that is
[tex]
g^{\mu \nu }=
\left[ \begin{array}{cccc} \frac{l}{fl+w^2} & 0 & 0 & -\frac{w}{fl+w^2} \\ 0 & -e^{-m} & 0 &0 \\0 & 0 & -e^{-m} &0\\0 & 0 & 0 & -\frac{f}{fl+w^2}\end{array} \right]
[/tex]

So how should I calculate the inverse metric tensor as shown by the author?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
The inverse metric is, like the name suggests, just the inverse matrix.

You should have learned how to calculate inverse matrices in Linear algebra, there are many methods.

The way you are trying, where you just invert the entries only works if the matrix is diagonal, which this one is not.

Matterwave said:
The inverse metric is, like the name suggests, just the inverse matrix.

You should have learned how to calculate inverse matrices in Linear algebra, there are many methods.

The way you are trying, where you just invert the entries only works if the matrix is diagonal, which this one is not.

Well, I thought the same way at first but I have tried find the inverse matrix but the result is different from the given one.
Mathematica give the me the inverse matrix as
[tex]
g^{\mu \nu }=
\left[ \begin{array}{cccc} \frac{1}{f} & 0 & 0 & -\frac{w}{fl} \\ 0 & -e^{-m} & 0 &0 \\0 & 0 & -e^{-m} &0\\0 & 0 & 0 & -\frac{1}{l} \end{array} \right]
[/tex]