How to become an Engineer while on active duty?

• Engineering
  • Thread starter BEyres
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineer
In summary: Thomas Edison State College offers a BS in Mechanical Engineering Technology that is ABET accredited. It is also a full-time program, which would be better for you since you plan to be back in the States in a year or two.
BEyres
Hello everyone. I am new to this site and I wonder is it possible to become an Engineer while on active duty? I am currently in school but not for engineering. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of my math classes and I work as a helicopter mechanic and have for the last 13 years. I love figuring out how a helicopter works. Unfortunately, I am currently stationed overseas so an Engineering degree is very difficult to obtain. Does anyone have any suggestions on which classes I should take that would transfer once I find a school? Any suggestions on a school? Any info from a current Engineer or someone attending class to become an engineer would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance,
Brandon Eyres

Physics news on Phys.org
Is it possible to take online courses with a (reputable) university? Not necessarily engineering courses, but perhaps you could get your general elective humanities courses and your math/science courses out of the way.

BEyres said: