How to become a physicist from an engineer?

In summary: If you want to pursue physics as a degree, you will need to take a physics course in addition to the GRE. You should take a physics course in addition to the GRE in order to improve your score and to prepare for graduate school in physics.
mukul12
Hi,

I am an Electrical Engineer but I want to become a Physicist and do research to develop theoretical models of elementary partials.
I have applied in several universities in US for MS and PhD programs but they have rejected me, I believe because of my non physics background.

Can someone suggest me what would be the best way to become a Physicist at this moment!
I am open to every possibility.

Physics news on Phys.org
mukul12 said:
Hi,

I am an Electrical Engineer but I want to become a Physicist and do research to develop theoretical models of elementary partials.
I have applied in several universities in US for MS and PhD programs but they have rejected me, I believe because of my non physics background.

Can someone suggest me what would be the best way to become a Physicist at this moment!
I am open to every possibility.

I hope you mean you want to develop theoretical models of elementary particles.

Graduate programs are not in the habit of rejecting an applicant solely because his academic background may not correspond exactly with the preparation required for the degree sought. There are many objective criteria to consider, such as your previous academic record, your scores on standardized tests, like the GRE, whether the graduate institution will accept credits from your undergraduate institution, etc.

If the schools which have rejected your application have not provided clear reasons for their decision, perhaps a request in writing asking for a detailed evaluation of why your application was rejected is in order now.

mukul12 said: