How should I spend my winter break?

In summary: I believe it's important to have a general understanding of the topics you are researching before getting too deep into the specifics. Spending an entire semester reading about a topic and trying to understand it deeply without any context won't do you any good.Spending more than 6 weeks on research would be a mistake.
Phys12
I'm an international student in the US (UT Arlington) and I someone suggested that I should get some research experience outside during the winter. Is it possible? I'll definitely try getting it at my university, but out of curiosity, is it possible to get some experience in other universities?

If not, how else can I make productive use of my break?

P.S. I don't want to spend > $3000 just to go home and come back (that's a metric ton of money)!

Physics news on Phys.org
Phys12 said:
I'm an international student in the US (UT Arlington) and I someone suggested that I should get some research experience outside during the winter. Is it possible? I'll definitely try getting it at my university, but out of curiosity, is it possible to get some experience in other universities?

P.S. I don't want to spend > $3000 just to go home and come back (that's a metric ton of money)!

I don't know where you live that it costs that much to fly home and back, but regardless... I don't know of any "organized" research experiences during the winter (since in most places, it's only ~1 month long). Maybe try some professors at your university?

look for field biology programs... my neighbor's college biology kid needed a month long winter onsite experience thru University of Iowa for his degree.

How long is your winter break and exactly what period does it cover? Don't expect to get much done anywhere during the (approx.) two weeks that include Christmas and New Year.

I believe it's from 17 December to 12 January and I'm a Physics major, interested in Astronomy as the specialization.