How powerful are Superman's punches?

• Thread starter JasonSpidey
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Force
In summary, the conversation discusses the physical aspects of Superman's strength and abilities, specifically his punching power. The first scenario assumes that Superman can accelerate his fist to a million times the speed of a human, while the second scenario takes it to the limit with 99% of the speed of light. It is estimated that in the first scenario, Superman's punch would be equivalent to a 100 kg TNT explosion, while in the second scenario it would be equivalent to a 200 m diameter meteorite. Some comparisons to characters in the Marvel universe and a book on the physics of superheroes are also mentioned.
JasonSpidey
Hello there - this is my first time here, and I apologize for my lack of hard knowledge on physics.

I'm a screenwriter working on a screenplay about Superman. I've always had a love of superheroes (especially Superman), but always wondered about some of the more physical aspects of it. Which brings me to the topic at hand: how hard can Superman punch?

For the sake of argument, let's assume Superman has the same mass and proportions as a large human, so his fist would weigh about 2 kilos (I believe) and his body would weigh about 100 kilograms.

Also, assume he's punching someone as durable as he is - say, General Zod, another resident of his home planet of Krypton who boasts the same powers on Earth as Superman. So proportionally to one another, it would be just like two humans duking it out.

The final step, of course, comes down to the speed his fist can accelerate at. For let's argument's sake, let's do two separate calculations:

First of all, let's say he can accelerate at one million times the speed of a human, to a million times the velocity. Basically, here his punch is a million times stronger than a human's (I believe) - but how powerful is that? And what is the acceleration and terminal velocity of his fist when it hits Zod?