How much water to raise ph of diet coke to 5.5

• Thread starter tiger_striped_cat
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ph Water
In summary: I'm curious if the calculations would change if you were using the kp instead? In summary, this is a difficult question that requires a numerical approach.
tiger_striped_cat
This is certainly NOT a homework assignment. I am a medical student and we are learning about oral flora, I read that the safe zone for enamel is a pH of 5.5, and as a diet soda drinker I am curious if this is even possible.

I probably should remember how to do something like this.

The ph of most sodas are between 2.5-4.7. I'm taking the extreme end of 2.5. How much water would I have to add to raise the solution up to a ph of 5.5. The ingredients of diet coke is:

Carbonated water, caramel E150d, sweeteners (spertame), flavoring (caffeine), phsophoric acid, citric acid.

I got this off the UK coke site but it should work well enough. I assume that the phosphoric acid and citric acid are what drop the pH. Both are weak acids, correct? I'm sure I could probably look up an example of this, but I'm not sure I could find one that uses a solution like this. Is there any way to calculate this based on the pH of a solution, rather than the pka of some particular component.

Any help would be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
tiger_striped_cat said:
This is certainly NOT a homework assignment.

For consistency we have to treat all such questions the same way - if it looks like a homework, it lands in the homework section.

This is tricky. You have a system containing three weak acids, and 8 Ka constants, of these several quite close to the desired pH. Calculating pH of such solution is equivalent to finding a root of a 10th degree polynomial, not a thing you want to do manually. Using some assumptions problem can be simplified, but I doubt it can be simplified enough to get a meaningful answer without some kind of numerical approach.