How much knowledge do you use from your education on your job?

In summary: I do for a living. In summary, an expert summarizer would mention that they have a degree in physics, but their work experience and education has helped them to be successful in their field. They would say that the most valuable skills they have gained are not from their education, but from their experience and what they have learned on the job.
Hierophant
Give us a set of examples of what you do regularly and how your education has played a part in that process.

Physics news on Phys.org
Building consensus on goals and prioritizing actions needed to achieve them would be one. One of the most useful skills you learn in uni is creating a team that is more than the sum of its parts. Lab projects stand out in my mind on that count.

Chronos said:
Building consensus on goals and prioritizing actions needed to achieve them would be one. One of the most useful skills you learn in uni is creating a team that is more than the sum of its parts. Lab projects stand out in my mind on that count.

Hierophant probably meant subject-matter, concepts, and skills. Your discussion would I guess be one of the outcomes of Engineering. In other courses with laboratory exercises, you would at least deal with a lab partner, but once you get a job as an employee, there is also much more opportunity for conflict, which is best learned in the actual job of being employed. The student in a lab class just wants to get through the exercise. The worker in the laboratory job might have power struggles with others who want to have control of people or are stingy with advice or equipment.

I work as an "engineer" in the semiconductor industry even though I have degrees in physics. I don't use any of my physics education at work really. I believe that the success I have is in spite of my education, not because of it. The piece of paper might have got me past HR, but that's about it.