How many boundary conditions should I have for a 2-D transient pde?

In summary, the speaker is a coding novice seeking advice on solving a 2D advection-diffusion problem. They are unsure of how many boundary conditions are needed for the transported property, which is a chemical element being transported from left to right with only advection. The speaker has specified the initial mass and left boundary, but is unsure if a second boundary condition is needed at the right. They are seeking advice on this matter.
bzz77
Hello all:

I'm a newbie, trying to write/use code for solving a 2D advection-diffusion problem. I'm not sure how many boundary conditions I should have for the property that is being transported.

In my problem, I have diffusion switched off (advection only). The property being transported (from left to right) is a chemical element. I have its initial mass as an initial condition. I have specified its mass at the left boundary. Do I need a second boundary condition at the right?

Thanks for any advice.

Physics news on Phys.org
bzz77 said:
Hello all:

I'm a newbie, trying to write/use code for solving a 2D advection-diffusion problem. I'm not sure how many boundary conditions I should have for the property that is being transported.

In my problem, I have diffusion switched off (advection only). The property being transported (from left to right) is a chemical element. I have its initial mass as an initial condition. I have specified its mass at the left boundary. Do I need a second boundary condition at the right?

Thanks for any advice.

You should. If it is the iterative, then you will need to account for front and end conditions.

Related to How many boundary conditions should I have for a 2-D transient pde?

1. What are boundary conditions for a 2-D transient PDE?