How is the fundamental group related to quantum statistics?

In summary, the fundamental group of the configuration space of particles determines the number of possible quantum statistics. This is because in order to have the appropriate symmetries, the particles must be able to switch around, and the fundamental group represents these switching actions. The number of possible statistics is then related to the number of homotopy classes of loops, with different dimensions resulting in different groups (e.g. cyclic group of order 2 for n=2 and infinite cyclic group for n>2). This is not directly related to the Poincare group, which is more relevant in relativistic situations.
vanirof
How does fundamental group determines number of possible quantum statistics?
Why is number of possible statistics equal to number of different possible paths?

Physics news on Phys.org
Hmmm...

I'm not an expert on the spin-statistics theorem, but I think I will take a stab and say what I know. I'm a topologist, so I perk up at the mention of the fundamental group.

If you have n particles, their configuration space is like M cross M cross ... cross M, where M is the configuration space of one of them. And then, if you want to impose the condition that the particles can't occupy the same spot, you take the out set that has repeated coordinates.

At this point, I'm confused about whether I want to mod out by the action of the symmetric group on the factors. In 2 dimensions, the fundamental group will be the pure braid group if you don't mod out by permutations, otherwise, just the braid group. The picture here is that the world-lines of particles can braid around each other. A path in configuration space is really a braid because there is one path for each particle.