In summary, the concept of sudden transition in the quantization of electromagnetic field can be better understood by looking at the analogy with single-particle quantum mechanics. Just like the classical equation for the harmonic oscillator can be turned into a quantum equation by replacing the variables with operators, the same applies to quantum fields where the Fourier components of the vector potential A become quantum operators. This is similar to the case of a single-particle in a harmonic oscillator potential, where the raising and lowering operators are related to the Fourier transforms of the position and momentum operators. This concept helps in understanding why the Fourier components of A need to become quantum operators in order to quantize the electromagnetic field.
goodphy
Hello.

I'm studying quantization of electromagnetic field (to see photon!) and on the way to reach harmonic oscillator Hamiltonian as a final stage, sudden transition that the Fourier components of vector potential A become quantum operators is observed. (See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quantization_of_the_electromagnetic_field)

I guess Wikipedia doesn't describes much of the reason for this jump. It only states that the operator is for boson. I know photon is boson but how it can explain Fourier components of A should become quantum operators? And besides, I originally expected to see the prove that photon is boson in this study.

Could anybody help me to understand this?

Physics news on Phys.org
It helps to see the analogy with single-particle quantum mechanics, in the case of the harmonic oscillator. You have, classically:

[itex]E = \frac{m}{2} \dot{x}^2 + \frac{K}{2} x^2[/itex]

Then you can turn this classical equation into a quantum equation by letting [itex]p = m \dot{x}[/itex] and rewriting it as:

[itex]E = \frac{p^2}{2m} + \frac{K}{2} x^2[/itex]

where [itex]p[/itex] and [itex]x[/itex] obey the commutation relation [itex][p,x] = -i \hbar[/itex]