How far water flows in a tilted oven before evaporating?

In summary: That's a lagging insulation, and the kiln will hold 500kg of material at a time. You're looking at around 9000W of energy to dry that material.
crclayton
If I throw 10 gallons/minute of cold water for 4 days into an oven that's 300°C Celcius and 300ft long sloped at an angle of 10°, how far would the water make it down the oven before completely evaporating?

i5Nel.png

Even if you can't solve this directly, I'd love some advice or recommendations of how to approach the problem. I'm an EE student on an internship and this is totally out of my area of expertise.

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
crclayton said:
If I throw 10 gallons/minute of cold water for 4 days into an oven that's 300°C Celcius and 300ft long sloped at an angle of 10°, how far would the water make it down the oven before completely evaporating?

i5Nel.png

Even if you can't solve this directly, I'd love some advice or recommendations of how to approach the problem. I'm an EE student on an internship and this is totally out of my area of expertise.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the PF.

Is this a schoolwork problem? If so, it needs to be posted in the Homework Help section of the PF, and you need to show some effort on the solution. What is the context of the question?

berkeman said:
Welcome to the PF.

Is this a schoolwork problem? If so, it needs to be posted in the Homework Help section of the PF, and you need to show some effort on the solution. What is the context of the question?

Thanks! No, it's not a homework problem, I'm on an internship working at a mill and have been asked to look into this. I've looked into Newton's cooling equation, hoping to get a value for the time it would take water to evaporate like so:

To = 10 degrees (cold water)
Tf = 100 degrees (evaporated water)
Ta = 300 degrees (ambiant temperature of oven)

T(t) = Ta + (To-Ta)e-kt = 100 = 300 - 290e-kt