How Far Can a Piston Fall Down a 100-Foot Cylinder?

In summary, the formula for calculating the height at which the piston will reach equilibrium in a vertical cylinder is h2 = (100 ft) / (1 + 4/∏ pa lbs/inch2), where pa is the atmospheric air pressure. This is based on Boyle's law which states that the pressure and volume of a confined gas are inversely proportional at constant temperature.
Thomas38740

Homework Statement

How far will a piston fall down a vertical cylinder 100 feet in length? If the cylinder is 10" in diameter, the piston is 100lbs, the cylinder has a bottom and is capable of fluid isolation, filled with ambient air at 80 degrees F, at sea level, the cylinder has friction free slide-ability.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I have look in FAQ. I have tried to solve the question.

Homework Statement

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I have had an education. I am a senior citizen veteran who does not always understand the new ways. I have not used my education in years. I am trying to keep my mind young as possible.

Physics news on Phys.org
The piston will actually oscillate up and down in the cylinder, so you might be interested in the lowest point it will reach? The reason for this being that the air can be compressed like a spring.

Thank You

I am interested in where it finds average equilibrium approximately. Example 10 feet down, 25 feet down, 80 feet down the cylinder.

It seems to me you are interested in the point where the pressure applied by weight of the piston and the ambient pressure on its top surface will be equal to the pressure exerted by the air inside of the cylinder.

If so you can use Boyle's law which states that the pressure, p, and volume, V, of a confined gas is inversely proportional to each other at constant temperature or

p1 V1 = p2 V2