How does the pilot wave theory explain the double slit experiment?

In summary, the conversation revolved around the pilot wave theory and its explanation of the double slit experiment in quantum mechanics. The theory proposes that the pilot wave determines the probability of different possible paths for a particle, and the act of determining which slit the particle traverses affects the wave. The theory also has three assumptions: the pilot wave behaves deterministically, particles have definite positions influenced by the pilot wave, and there is a random distribution of initial positions. The discussion also touched on the idea that the measurement apparatus affects the pilot wave and the existence of interference patterns in the experiment. Ultimately, there was debate about whether Nobel laureate Richard Feynman's analysis of the experiment was correct and how Bohmian mechanics explains the interference patterns.
Filmmakerdoc
Hi,

I'm not a scientist, but a documentary filmmaker doing research on the nature of reality. An essential disclaimer as my question might seem a bit superficial to most you guys who work in the field.

I would like to know how the pilot wave theory to quantum mechanics explains the double slit experiment. Shouldn't the pilot waves behave the same in the presence or absence of measurement?

Thanks you

Ben

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;

Caveats:
We cannot comment on the nature of reality itself, that would be philosophy rather than physics.
Pilot wave theory is an interpretation of QM - such discussions are tightly moderated due to their highly philosophical nature.

Simplified:
The idea is that the pilot wave traverses both slits, producing the interference pattern while the particle rides along it going through one or the other slit. The pilot wave determines the likelyhood of different possible paths.

The act or determining which slit the particle traversed has to affect the wave too.