How does the internet affect science education?

In summary, the internet has made it easier for people to access information on advanced concepts, but there is also a lot of misinformation available. It's difficult for students to know what is and what is not a reputable source of information.
Ivan Seeking
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
First let me say that I couldn't decide on the best forum for this, so if any other staff members feel that this belongs elsewhere, please feel free to move it without objections.

I have observed that because of the internet, ideas once reserved for only advanced students or graduates are easily accessible and even discussed at all levels. When I was a student, there was usually a sense of "to be continued next year" in most lectures and reading. We knew that there was more to the story but that we weren't quite ready to tackle the next level of the discussion or derivation. There was a sense that the rate at which new ideas were introduced was strictly controlled. – that we were only dealt the cards that we were ready to manage. But today a high school student with no previous exposure to physics can easily read about the most advanced concepts in detail. It seems to me that this is a fundamental change in the normal process of exposure to advanced concepts.

Is this true, and if so, how will it effect the student, and how will it affect science in general?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I think the main difference is that it's hard to know the source/quality of the information.
If you have to search through copies of Zeitschrift für Physik or phys rev letters you had a pretty good chance of knowing it was genuine - it's much harder to spot rubbish on the net.
But it's much easier to find information on projects from a group's website than a cursory conference proceedings/poster paper 2 years later.

And if I never have to smell basement stacks again I won't be too unhappy !