How Does Changing Force Angle Affect Kinetic Energy Increase in a Sled?

In summary, the sled's kinetic energy would have increased by 18% if the pulling force had pointed 62° above the +x axis.
Parzival
Help! I am a starter physicist and I need hlep on this question stated thus:

Homework Statement

A sled is being pulled across a horizontal patch of snow.
Friction is negligible. The pulling force points in the same direction
as the sled's displacement, which is along the +x axis. As a result, the kinetic energy of the sled increases by 38%. By what percentage would the sled's kinetic energy have increased if this force had pointed 62° above the +x axis?

Homework Equations

W = final KE - initial KE
W = (F cos theta)*displacement

The Attempt at a Solution

I tried using the work-energy theorem, but i couldn't solve for any of the variables. Then I turned to the second work formula, but still no dice.

Physics news on Phys.org
Since Friction is negligible, no work done.

Parzival said:

Homework Statement

A sled is being pulled across a horizontal patch of snow.
Friction is negligible. The pulling force points in the same direction
as the sled's displacement, which is along the +x axis. As a result, the kinetic energy of the sled increases by 38%. By what percentage would the sled's kinetic energy have increased if this force had pointed 62° above the +x axis?

Homework Equations

W = final KE - initial KE
W = (F cos theta)*displacement

The Attempt at a Solution

I tried using the work-energy theorem, but i couldn't solve for any of the variables. Then I turned to the second work formula, but still no dice.

You have all the necessary formulae. The work is equal to the change of KE. Write it out for both cases. The angles are different, but the displacements same x.
Call the intial kinetic energy KEi. Write the change of KE in terms of KEi. It is 0.38KEi in the first case, and ηKEi in the second case when theta=62°. You need to find the unknown factor η.