How Do You Solve the Equations of Motion in a Gravitational Field?

In summary: I'm not at all sure that the Kepler problem is in fact analytically solvable. Every treatment I've seen of it resorts to numerical methods. But I'm not an expert!It would be nice to have a definitive statement on this, with a reference to a textbook or paper. So far I don't feel I've seen that. And it is an interesting question.Perhaps I should post it in the maths section.
PSarkar
I want to find out the general equations of motion for a particle with an initial velocity [itex]v_0[/itex] in a gravitational field by a point/spherical mass (assuming this is a large mass which doesn't move). Assume that the origin of the coordinate system is the point mass. If the vector equation of the particle's path is [itex]\mathbf{r}(t)[/itex], then the acceleration should be the second derivative,
[tex]\frac{d^2 \mathbf{r}}{dt^2}[/tex]
The acceleration is caused by the gravitaional field (acceleration field) given by,
[tex]A(\mathbf{r}) = GM\frac{\mathbf{r}}{|\mathbf{r}|^3}[/tex]
But we already have the acceleration of the particle,
[tex]\frac{d^2 \mathbf{r}}{dt^2} = GM\frac{\mathbf{r}}{|\mathbf{r}|^3}[/tex]
So the general solution for [itex]\mathbf{r}[/itex] can be found by solving the above differential equation but I couldn't do it. Can anyone show me how it is done?

Physics news on Phys.org
Does anybody know how to solve it or is there no exact analytic solution?

Yes, this equation is solvable analytically. It is best to approach it using Lagrangians. The solutions are elliptical orbits first described by Kepler's laws.

I have seen Lagrangians and Euler-Lagrange equation but I don't know them well. Would someone kindly show me the steps in the solution?

Does anyone know how to do it?

By Kepler:
[itex]\frac{d^{2}r}{dt^{2}} = GM\frac{r}{|r|^{2}}[/itex]
by Newton:
F=ma, P=mv
[itex]F=m*GM\frac{r}{|r|^{2}}[/itex]
Where m is the mass of the orbiting body and M is the point mass (center of orbit).