How Do You Calculate the Area of a Rectangle with Given Perimeter and Diagonal?

• Thread starter LeadyKnight
  • Start date
In summary, a student on physicsforums is seeking help for an upcoming AMC test. They are specifically looking for assistance with the perimeter and area of a rectangle problem. The conversation includes a link to the test questions and various equations and explanations are provided to help solve the problem.
LeadyKnight
Hi all, I am new to physicsforums, so i just want to get to know yall. I am a sophomore and takin alg II, i have an AMC test coming up on February 9. and my teacher gave me a review packet. there are only 25 questions but they are like the hardest questions I've ever seen. So if there's someone has already taken the test, and can help me out with those questions, i would rly appreciate it. i don't need the answer, i just want to know how to solve the problems.

Homework Statement

The perimeter of a rectangle is 100 and its diagonal has length x. What is the area of this rectangle.

Homework Equations

i got l + w = 50 (from the perimeter of the rectangle)
and x2= l2 + w2 (find the diagonal of the right triangle)

i found this on the internet: 2lw= (l+w)2 - (l2+w2)
and got 2500 - x2 , then they divide it by 2 to get the area of the rectangle.

so basically they put : 2(Area) = (perimeter)2 - [this is what i don't get]
and why they square the perimeter?

2 rectangle = 4 triangle = 1 kite ? i don't think there's any connection w/ the kite : A = (1/2)d1*d2

P/s: english is not my language, so if u guys don't understand something just say sth and ill try to explain. sry

btw this is the link of all the questions: http://www.unl.edu/amc/a-activities/a7-problems/practice1012p/html1012p/10pcontest/02c10p.html#10pc#3

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
We are told that the perimeter is 100
This is [itex]2(l+w)=100[/itex] since there are 2 lengths and 2 widths in the rectangle.