How Do You Calculate Homology in Algebraic Topology Problems?

In summary: K(Z, 1) is a group, this means that [X; S1] has a group structure as well. Furthermore, we can use the fact that H1(X; Z) is isomorphic to [X; K(Z, 1)] to show that [X; S1] is naturally isomorphic to H1(X; Z) as groups.
Hey guys, i am studying cohomology by hatcher's. Could anyone provide me some ideas on these problems? Thank you!

Let f : S2n-1 -> Sn denote a continuous map. Let Xf = D2n union f Sn be the space obtained by attaching a 2n-dim cell to Sn using the map f.
i). Calculate the integral homology of Xf .
ii). Find an n and an f such that H*(Xf ;Z=2) has a non-trivial product. Justify it.

Let X be a path-connected finite CW-complex and see S1 as the complex numbers
of norm 1. Let [X; S1] denote the set of homotopy classes [f] of maps f : X -> S1.
i). Show that the set [X; S1] has the structure of a group induced by the multiplication
in S1.
ii). Show that [X; S1] is naturally isomorphic to H1(X; Z) as groups.( use Eilenberg-Maclane space)

Physics news on Phys.org

Hi there! I am also studying cohomology and I would be happy to share some ideas on these problems with you.

For the first problem, we can use the Mayer-Vietoris sequence to calculate the integral homology of Xf. Since Xf is obtained by attaching a 2n-dim cell to Sn, we have the following exact sequence:

0 -> H2n(Xf) -> H2n(D2n) ⊕ H2n(Sn) -> H2n-1(Sn) -> H2n-1(Xf) -> 0

Using the fact that H2n(D2n) = 0 and H2n(Sn) = Z, we can see that H2n(Xf) = 0 and H2n-1(Xf) = Z. Similarly, we can use the exact sequence for lower dimensions to find that Hk(Xf) = Hk(Sn) for k < 2n-1 and Hk(Xf) = 0 for k > 2n. Therefore, the integral homology of Xf is given by:

Hk(Xf) = Z for k = 2n-1
Hk(Xf) = Z for k < 2n-1
Hk(Xf) = 0 for k > 2n-1