How Do You Calculate Acceleration in a Two-Mass Pulley System?

• Thread starter jbunniii
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Pulleys
In summary, the student is trying to find the acceleration of a mass connected to a system of strings and pulleys. They find that the acceleration is given by ##g/5##.
jbunniii
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author
Gold Member

Homework Statement

I am teaching myself mechanics using Kleppner & Kolenkow, second edition. My background is in math, so I don't need assistance with that aspect, but my physical intuition is weak/nonexistent. :-p This is problem 2.8.

Masses ##M_1## and ##M_2## are connected to a system of strings and pulleys as shown in the figure attached. The strings are massless and inextensible, and the pulleys are massless and frictionless. Find the acceleration of ##M_1##.

http://postimg.org/image/hogs0e151/

Homework Equations

##F = ma##

The Attempt at a Solution

The hint given is that if ##M_1 = M_2##, then the acceleration should be ##g/5##. My answer is consistent with that hint, but I want to make sure it's right.

Referring to the attached image, let us call ##L_1## the length of the rope attached to ##M_1##, and let us call ##L_2## the length of the rope attached to ##M_2##. Assume also that the radii of the pulleys are ##R_1## and ##R_2##, respectively. Then:
$$L_1 = (h_1 - y_1) + \pi R_1 + (h_1 - h_2)$$
$$L_2 = h_2 + \pi R_2 + h_2 - y_2$$
Differentiating each of these twice, and recognizing that ##L_1##, ##L_2##, ##R_1##, ##R_2##, and ##h_1## are constants, we obtain ##\ddot h_2 = -\ddot y_1## and ##\ddot y_2 = 2\ddot h_2##. Combining these, we see that ##\ddot y_2 = -2 \ddot y_1##.

Next, we consider the forces on the two masses. The mass ##M_1## is acted upon by tension ##T_1## pointing upward, and ##W_1 = M_1 g## pointing downward. Therefore,
$$T_1 - M_1 g = M_1 \ddot y_1$$
The mass ##M_2## is acted upon by tension ##T_2## pointing upward, and ##W_2 = M_2 g## pointing downward. Therefore,