How Do Quantum Numbers Shape Atomic Structure?

In summary, the primary quantum number n determines the energy level of an electron, and the larger the value of n, the larger the angular momentum is permitted. The quantum number m represents the projection of the angular momentum on the z-axis and is quantized according to quantum mechanics. Differential equations play a crucial role in understanding the quantum model of the atom, as they are used to solve Schrödinger's equation and obtain the wave function of an electron. It is recommended to have a basic understanding of calculus before delving into this topic.
cam875
im just learning the quantum model of the atom now and i have a few questions,

1st: why does the different energy levels represented by the primary quantum number n have different numbers of subshells represented by l such as 0,1,2,3. Energy level 1 can only have s or 0 but Energy Level 2 can have 0 or 1 which is s and p. Why is this, what is the difference between the two energy levels that causes this to be possible.

2nd: I don't understand what the m is for, it stands for magnetic or something but I am just confused about it, could someone explain that part of the 4 quantum numbers for describing an electron.

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
i) It comes from the math, theory of differential equations, when you solve this Shcrödinger equation.

You can think "semiclassical" about this, n is the radial quantum number, and the larger it is, the larger angular momentum is permitted. (if we think of n as distance from centre). But the real answer is what you obtain when you solve the shcördinger equation.

Have you done class in partial differential equations? if not, maybe wait til then to try to get the solution buy yourself.

ii) m is the projection of l on the z-axis which is, according to QM, quantized.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Principal_quantum_number
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Azimuthal_quantum_number