How Do Magnets Work At an Atomic Level (Motion of Charged Bodies)?

In summary, a magnet is created by the spinning of charged particles within the atoms of the magnet. The magnetic field is associated with the "spin" of the charged particles.
AFSstudent
I'm a year 12 physics student and I have a keen interest in the inner workings of a magnet.

I know that magnetic fields are created by the motion of charged bodies.
1. Is this somehow related to the how magnets create their fields, within their structure at an atomic level?

I've heard that the magnetic fields created by magnets are associated with the "spin" of charged particles within the atoms of the magnet.
2. What kind of magnetic fields do spinning charged bodies create in motion? When stationary?
3. What does this have to do with the magnetic field of a magnet?

I know that each atom within a magnet acts as a microscopic dipole and these are all aligned within a magnet.
4. So how exactly do these atoms act as dipoles?
5. How are the charged bodies within a magnet's atomic structure moving when these dipoles are said to be "aligned"?

I know that there is some quantum physics involved in understanding these but I will try my best to interpret any answers I'm given, so please don't hold back. Thank you.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
All of this boils down to nature of spin. You can picture this as electrons being charged spheres that spin around their own axis. It's not entirely correct, but until you get into quantum mechanics of it all, it's not a bad mental picture to have. If you have a spinning charged object, you end up with a current loop, same as if a bunch of point-charges were traveling in circles making up a sphere together. So each individual electron acts as a tiny magnetic dipole. The rest is pretty much as you say. If all of these dipoles align, their magnetic contributions add together, generating an overall magnetic field.