How do ions and electrons follow directions in a stellarator

In summary, the difference between a tokamak and a stellarator is that a tokamak needs a plasma current to create a confining magnetic field, while a stellarator does not need current to generate a confining magnetic field.
anonymous24
Hello,
I'm a high school student interested in fusion. I've done a bit research online but I got a bit confused how does stellarator like W7-X drives electrons to run in the same direction without plasma current. I know in a tokamak, the plasma current makes electrons follow a certain direction like in wires, correct me if I'm wrong, thank you.

Engineering news on Phys.org
anonymous24 said:
how does stellarator like W7-X drives electrons to run in the same direction without plasma current.
Is the question related to this statement: " However, our former Director, Jürgen Nührenberg, discovered a hidden symmetry characteristic of plasmas in the 1980s which makes it possible to also confine a plasma without plasma current?"

Read more at: http://phys.org/news/2016-02-plasma-physicist-discusses-wendelstein-x.html#jCp

mathman said:
There is a plasma.
Indeed, but I believe the question relates to a plasma current, or the necessity of having a current to direct or confine a plasma.