How Do I Properly Connect Separate Electrical Circuits in an Industrial Setting?

• Thread starter ergwell
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Circuits
In summary, the electrician at the plant does not understand how to wire two machines together using 24v DC. A wiring diagram would be helpful.
ergwell
I'm a graduate engineer at a manufacturing plant and unfortunately my lack of experience shows. Today I had the simple job of connecting the output of a limit switch on a circuit from a machine to the input terminal of a robot on a separate circuit. Both use 24v DC. I failed horribly. Probably because I attempted to use a single wire and evidently electricity needs to flow in a loop.

As both machines were running of the mains wouldn't there already be a loop present? And at the risk of sounding even more silly, does there need to be a loop, or are the electrons just trying their best to get to ground (0v)? I was actually under the impression 24v would travel to 0 volts through a single line no matter what the conditions.

Finally what would be the best way to wire these two circuits together. Maybe the 24v from limit switch should be run through a relay to isolate the circuit and having a second wire run between the machine neutral and the robot neutral? I honestly have no idea. I will try and draw up a little diagram in paint.

Thanks in advance for any assistance. This is really eating at me, and I it would help me out a lot. Pretty confused at the moment.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Generally when hooking two machines together in this manner, the machine that is 'signaling the other machine' provides a set of contacts (switch) that open and close appropriately. This set of contacts will be isolated from the signaling machine.

ergwell, Welcome to Physics Forums!

Are there no electricians at your manufacturing plant? You are dealing with one of the most basic types of electrical connections. No one needs a degree to do this task.