How Do I Interpret Circuit Schematics for Building a Pocket Amplifier?

In summary, The circuit has two 9 volt batteries, a capacitor for providing a common ground, a power on switch, a potentiometer for volume control, and an op-amp. The op-amp is used to amplify the input signal.
KingNothing
Hi, I am just getting into building circuits. I have found a nice page with all the symbols: http://library.thinkquest.org/10784/circuit_symbols.html which has helped me some but I still get confused. The circuit I am talking in regards to is this: http://tangentsoft.net/audio/cmoy-tutorial/misc/cmoy-tangent-sch.pdf . As a reference, here is the page for the pocket amplifier.

It is a pocket amplifier for headphones. I hope to be able to make a small amplifier for a guitar, and I figure this is a start.

First of all, on the far left side, those symbols where it says 9V are for grounding right? What exactly is being grounded. I understand that there is a 9V battery used but doesn't that just have positive and negative terminals (shown on the far right)? What exactly is being grounded?

Also, Capacitor 1 (C1). Having a plus or minus means it is polarized right? Since the positive is connected to the negative by a line, doesn't this mean that the two terminals are directly connected? Should that be a concern?

What does the SW 1 \ 2 mean along the top? My guess is that it is a switch that will either connect the circuit there or disconnect it there. (I am only referring to the first schematic in the document for all the preceding questions)

On the second schematic, I see the potentiometer is being used as a volume control because it is a voltage divider. If I already have a volume control that controls the volume of the input signal (this is an amplifier circuit), do I still want the pot? If not, how would I get rid of it and keep the amp at full power always?