How do I get practical with my engineering education?

In summary, the speaker is an electrical engineering student in their pre-final year who has recently participated in robotics and circuit design competitions with friends. They are looking for ways to gain practical experience due to financial constraints and express interest in attending graduate school and pursuing a career in academia. They are seeking advice on how to start with research and recommendations for publications and sources of information. Suggestions include learning simulation software, taking online courses, collaborating with other engineers, reading research papers, and participating in online competitions. They are also advised to stay updated on industry and technological advancements.
Wisey
I am an electrical engineering student currently in my pre-final year.

I recently entered some robotics and circuit design competitions with my friends, and found the experience quite satisfying, applying the principles and theory I learned in the past 2 years for the very first time.
However, I find this activity to be highly impractical in the long run, I don't have the funds necessary to keep working on one project after another, the only reason I am able to indulge in it right now is because my friends are pooling in the money for some specific competitions alone.

Is there some other way in which I can gain practical experience? I do not have opportunities to go for internships or help out professors with their work.
I have been thinking of learning how to use simulation software to design projects, would this be helpful even if I don't go about implementing them in real life?
Can anyone suggest some other ways through which I can practically apply the theory I have learnt? Or perhaps suggest some project ideas that aren't too simple, but do not empty my pockets either, so that I may be able to build on from there?