How do I get a career in Space Technology?

In summary: I am wanting to go into graduate school in Astrophysics. I have been told by many people in the electrical engineering field that I need a security clearance. I was wondering if that is true.In summary, it is possible to go into graduate school in Astrophysics without a security clearance. You would need to find an advisor who is working on similar projects.
Lindzphysics
I am an undergraduate Physics major, and I cannot decide if I want to go to grad school fro Astrophysics or Electrical Engineering; I love them both. I want to combine the two, and so my ideal job would be working on the electronics and technology used in space. I would love to work on projects like Hubble, or work for NASA contracting companies building systems for space ships. My question is how do I go about obtaining a career like that?

Physics news on Phys.org
First! First do not disparage your security clearance background investigation.

Sounds like there's a story behind that advice?

Locrian said:
Sounds like there's a story behind that advice?
LOL Sure I am a long retired nuclear field federal civil servant, and a pro-gun activist legally armed citizen. I am stunned with the casual disrespect of the law.

If graduate school is your intention, I suggest finding a school which commonly works on those types of projects. There are plenty of funding opportunities through NASA fellowships, as well as in general space technologies.

The NASA fellowships sometimes even require you to do internships at the various NASA centers, which gives you a better chance of being hired in the end. The funding issues NASA faces has made it very difficult to hire any non-Ph.D.s. You actually don't necessarily need a security clearance to work at NASA

Other contractors like Boeing, Lockheed build a lot of the technology and NASA only manages the science. John's Hopkins Applied physics lab is contracted to build probes as well.