How do I find the magnitude of the sum of these force vectors in 3 dimensions?

In summary, In this homework, you are trying to calculate the magnitude and directions of the sum of three vectors. You are also trying to find the angles the sum of the vectors make with each axis. Finally, you are trying to find the magnitude and direction of the sum of the vectors if you only have the x, y, and z components.
Inertigratus

Homework Statement

[PLAIN]http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/3756/fmp1.jpg
How do I calculate the magnitude of the sum of these 3 vectors?
Also, how do I find the angles the sum of the vectors make with each axis?
F1 = 260N
F2 = 75N
F3 = 60N

Homework Equations

F = F1 + F2 + F3

The Attempt at a Solution

The thing is that I'm still new to vectors and not sure how to proceed since the vectors aren't beginning at origo. Plus, the magnitude is in Newton, how do I find out the components of each vector using the magnitude?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
find their i, j, k component and add them (take care of - signs of forces in -X,-Y,-Z directions)

I know that, but how?
The x component of F2 = |F2|*cos(0) = 75N ?
How do I find the z component?
Also, the F3 only has a y component, which is 60N, right?

Inertigratus said:
The x component of F2 = |F2|*cos(0) = 75N ?

Its -75N

Z component is |F2|*sinθyes F3 has only Y component

Edit: its -60Ntake care of +/- signs or you'll end up with wrong answer

Right, what about F1 though?
What angles do I use?
For F2 it's simply 90/2 degrees, or pi/4.
For F3 it's 0 degrees.
How do I get the angles for F1?

Anyone?

I can't use the dot product since that requires me to know the end point of the force vector right?

cos(a) = AB/|A||B|

Does this figure have all right angles?

What do you mean? the figure got rotated a little, the z-axis is supposed to point straight upwards. I guess all angles are right angles. It doesn't say, but it looks like it.