How can you determine if you have mastered a topic in math?

• Thread starter GreenPrint
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary, mastering a topic in Calculus II means being able to solve a variety of problems and understanding the main theorems of the section. It is not necessary to solve every single problem in the book, but it is important to have a good grasp of the techniques involved. To truly master the material, one should be able to teach it to someone else. However, this level of understanding may not be attainable until after completing the class. It is important to focus on understanding the ideas rather than just memorizing techniques.
GreenPrint
Hi,

I'm studying Calculus II and was wondering how do you know when you have mastered a certain topic and should go on to the next one? I don't think I ever really got the hang of knowing when. Should you just solve every single problem in the book or what? How do you know when you have completely mastered the material of each section in your book? Like normally if you were taking a class at a college you attend lectures, take notes and solve the home work problems, but this is something every student does who's taking the class, at least is suppose to. What needs to be done to do well prior to examinations to completely master the material? Do you solve more similar problems again and again and again and again until it becomes second nature and solve every single one in the book or what? Like I'm lost as to how to go about ensuring I have mastered the material when studying math.

Thanks for any advice.

Physics news on Phys.org
GreenPrint said:
Hi,

I'm studying Calculus II and was wondering how do you know when you have mastered a certain topic and should go on to the next one? I don't think I ever really got the hang of knowing when. Should you just solve every single problem in the book or what?